The Canberra Hot Rod Association (Inc) was formed way back in 1983 to bring together all club and individual Hot Rodders in the ACT area. The main players in the formation of the original CHRA (or CSRA as it was known then) was the late Dennis Moreau (one of Canberra’s most prominent drag racers and a very keen Hot Rodder) and Alan Cooper (chairman of the TAC since the early seventies and a founding member of the Meteors, one of the longest surviving Hot Rod clubs in Australia).

The CHRA has evolved into what it is today – an open forum for all interested Hot Rodders. We invite all enthusiasts of modified, pre 48 Hot Rods and pre 65 Customs to our meetings, and that includes those who are already in another club.  There is no probationary period for full or associate membership, click HERE for membership details. Click HERE to go to the Australian Street Rod Association (ASRF) membership web page or HERE to download the membership form for the ASRF.

The current membership base is strong and extremely diverse, with garage scenes taking in some of the cars currently under construction, outings and Rod runs.  Annual membership fees are still just $10 per person and his money provides of the financial running of the admin and to conduct in depth surveys into the reasons why beer is so tasty! Each year the CHRA sponsors the Canberra Rod and Kustom Krooze (CRAKK Run). This is Canberra’s premier Rod Run, held over the long weekend in January. Click HERE for details, history when the next CRAKK Run is on.

The CHRA celebrated their 21st birthday in back 2004, click HERE to see the celebration.

The CHRA is a charter association of the Australian Street Rod Federation (Inc) or commonly known as the ASRF. Click HERE to visit to the ASRF Website.